NEISS (Neuronal extraction of information, structures and symmetries in images)

The NEISS-project (Neuronal extraction of information, structures and symmetries in images) promotes digitization in various fields of knowledge using methods of artificial intelligence. The common approach is based on a consistent methodological basis. It uses current machine learning technologies to capture, analyze and extract various types of information in images and data.

The project consortium includes partners from five institutes of the University of Rostock and the Institute for Plasma Physics of the Max Planck Society in Greifswald, which represent a wide range of scientific foundations and applications in mathematics, computer science, natural sciences and humanities. The project is exemplary interdisciplinary, it would like to initiate an increased clustering in the field of information and communication for the regional innovation strategy of the state Mecklenburg-Vorpommern.

Mathematicians and computer scientists develop the theoretical and technological foundations. In the fields of quantum optics and nanophotonics physicists as well as physical chemists analyze tomographic image data. Plasma physicists reconstruct measured values ​​from infrared images that support the control of a nuclear fusion reactor. Finally, germanists extract complex information from natural language, namely texts from German literature. What brings all of these applications together is the task of implementing effective algorithms in software modules ready for application.

Project duration: 01.07.2019 - 30.06.2022

Neuronale Extraktion von Informationen, Strukturen und Symmetrien aus Bildern

NEISS

Das Projekt NEISS (Neuronale Extraktion von Informationen, Strukturen und Symmetrien aus Bildern) fördert die Digitalisierung in diversen Wissensgebieten durch den Einsatz von Methoden der Künstlichen Intelligenz. Das gemeinsame Vorgehen beruht auf einer einheitlichen methodischen Basis: Aktuelle Technologien des Maschinellen Lernens werden für die Erfassung, Analyse und Extraktion verschiedener Typen von Informationen aus Bildern und Daten genutzt.

Dem Projektkonsortium gehören Partner aus fünf Instituten der Universität Rostock sowie dem Greifswalder Institut für Plasmaphysik der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft an, die mit Mathematik, Informatik, Natur- und Geisteswissenschaften  eine besondere Breite an wissenschaftlichen Grundlagen und Anwendungen repräsentieren. Das Projekt versteht sich als beispielgebend interdisziplinär, es möchte eine verstärkte Clusterbildung im Themenfeld "Information und Kommunikation" der regionalen Innovationsstrategie des Landes Mecklenburg-Vorpommern initiieren.

Mathematiker*innen und Informatiker*innen bearbeiten und entwickeln die theoretischen und technologischen Grundlagen, Physiker*innen aus den Bereichen Quantenoptik und Nanophotonik sowie Physikalische Chemiker*innen analysieren tomografische Bilddaten, Plasmaphysiker*innen rekonstruieren aus Infrarotbildern Messwerte, die die Steuerung eines Kernfusionsreaktors unterstützen, und schließlich extrahieren Germanist*innen komplexe Informationen aus natürlicher Sprache, nämlich Texten deutscher Literatur. Was all diese Anwendungen zusammenführt, ist die Aufgabe, effektive Algorithmen in anwendungsbereite Softwaremodule zu implementieren.

Projektlaufzeit: 01.07.2019 - 30.06.2022